A few (mostly superficial) reasons I think I’ll like Australia

by Alissa

  • They really do call it Oz.
  • The 50 cent piece looks like fantasy pirate money. All of the money I’ve seen so far has really nice animal art.
  • My mostly-indoor skin is going to look GREAT there compared to all those sun scorched native 30-somethings.
  • Bureaucracy is light to non-existent. Ace called to get the power turned on in the apartment, and the person on the other end of the line said yes. And there was light.
  • The electric outlets have little on-off switches for an added layer of safety.
  • Voting is mandatory.
  • For $2 per person, we can traipse up and down New South Wales on Sunday outings on public transit.
  • Ace is there, waiting for us.
  • He’s really good at brushing Octavia’s teeth.
  • The light is really amazing. A few months ago when Ace started looking through housing ads online I thought they had all been wildly enhanced. It really is that light there.
  • We’re going to live on Light Street.
  • The lemons are sweet:

Lemonade lemons. Ace claims they are sweeter than some oranges. I will be verifying this for myself in about three weeks.

 

